Engagement data privacy – Black lists, White lists, Access control and beyond

Komiko is taking data privacy very seriously. Here are the different means that are used to ensure it.

1. Scope of Email sync

Komiko is  synchronizing a selected list of target mailboxes.  Any mailbox that you don’t like Komiko to synchronize can easily be excluded.

By default, Komiko is skipping any internal email exchanged inside the company. It is using all possible email domains that the company is using to determine internal email exchange. So if you company is current using one email domain e.g. company_name.com and few years ago it also used getCompany_name.com or Company_name.ai Komiko will treat all of them as internal.

2. White List

The account list in Salesforce is served as a white list. Komiko will not automatically add new accounts, and email and meeting info will only update Salesforce when for existing accounts.

3. Black List

You can list certain email domains or specific email addresses that you’d like to Komiko to skip from ingesting. It could be your payroll provider, or external legal team, board members, etc. It can also be used to address the ‘right to be forgotten’.

When a black list email domain or specific email address is part of any email or meeting, this entire email and meeting will not be ingested to Komiko. Furthermore, any previous occurrences that were captured prior to defining the black list will be deleted.

4. “The right to be forgotten”

Komiko supports the GDPR requirement to allow people the “right to be forgotten”. For each given email address, Komiko can go back to history and delete any email that this email address was included (a sender or one of the recipients). It’ll also add this email to the “black list”, so any new emails with this email address will be excluded.

5. Access control

By default, Komiko will only show the content of an email, meeting or attachment to people that could view them in their mailbox.  So only people that are the senders or one of the recipients can by default view the content. Other people can view the “meta data” including date, list of recipients and subject line. It is obviously possible to change this setting and allow access to other people. It could be selected people, account owner, managers, etc.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?